A boozy girlie lunch in Mayfair

Yesterday I met up with four girlfriends (two of whom I hadn’t seen in years) for lunch at Rocket in Mayfair. Mini A-Z and camera in hand, imagine my bunting-obsessed delight when I turn down a tiny lane and discover this little muse hidden at the bottom – oh so European and Brit-tastic all at the same time!

Lancashire Court, Mayfair

Lancashire Court, Mayfair

I’m running late (owing to forgetting how long it takes to get around in London – and stopping to take photos!) and meet the girls upstairs in Rocket, a lovely light, airy, high-ceilinged room. The rosé is already in full flow and after hugs all round we get down to business – the menu. Three of our party go for delicious sounding gourmet pizzas, one for crab and crayfish cakes with hand cut chips, and I opt for a salad that has three types of cheese – St Agur, goats cheese and bocconcini – plus beetroot, avocado, pesto and roasted tomatoes. What’s not to love there! I’m a little bit excited to be posting one of the first food photos taken with my new fancy pants lens – ta da! (Nikon 50mm f1.8G, for the photography boffins).

Chef's salad

Chef’s salad, Rocket

Quite a few bottles of wine, plus coffees, later it’s time to leave so that some can get back to their young children, left with their fathers for the day – well, it is Father’s Day! For Henni and I it’s time for a quick nose around the shops, and what better way to top off an already great day but to find the shoes I was hankering after online from Oz – still available, in my size and in the sale!

Rocket
4 Lancashire Court, Mayfair, London
Visited 17 June 2012

2 thoughts on “A boozy girlie lunch in Mayfair

  1. Haha! I love the bunting, you should put some up at your desk when you get back to work! Looks like the lens has been a good purchase, great depth of field!

Leave a Reply

